CAF Awards 2018: Mohamed Salah, Aubameyang, Mane, Alex Iwobi shortlisted (Full list)

CAF Awards 2018: Mohamed Salah, Mane, Alex Iwobi shortlisted for the African Player of the Year alongside 7 other spectacular players.

CAF Awards 2018: Mohamed Salah, Mane, Alex Iwobi shortlisted

Last year’s winner, Mohamed Salah of Egypt and Liverpool, is one of five English Premier League players shortlisted.

Salah’s club team-mate Sadio Mane of Senegal also makes the cut, along with Arsenal duo Alex Iwobi of Nigeria and Gabon’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, and former Caf award winner Riyad Mahrez of Algeria and Manchester City.

Cameroon’s Andre Onana and Morocco’s Mehdi Benatia are also shortlisted from the preliminary list of 34 names.

Another Premier League star, Wilfred Ndidi of Nigeria and Leicester City, was shortlisted in the the Youth Player of the Year list, along with Morocco’s Achraf Hakimi and Ivorian Franck Kessie.

In the women’s category, last year’s Caf award winner Asisat Oshoala who helped Nigeria lift the trophy was shortlisted alongside two of her team mates, Onome Ebi and Francis Ordega.

The coaches from the top three teams at the Women’s Nations Cup – Nigeria, South Africa and Cameroon – are shortlisted for the Women’s Coach of the Year award.

Senegal coach Aliou Cisse and Morocco coach Herve Renard make the men’s shortlist for Coach of the Year after both took their teams to the Russia World Cup and achieved 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualification. Moine Chaabani, who guided Esperance to African Champions League success, completes the top three.

The National Team of the Year shortlist reflects the disappointing performance by African teams in Russia, with the 2019 Nations Cup qualifiers dominating. Madagascar and Mauritania, who will both play at a Nations Cup for the first time are joined by Uganda who qualified for a second consecutive Cup of Nations.

The top three at the Women’s Nations Cup – Nigeria, South Africa and Cameroon – are all in contention for the Women’s Team of the Year award.

The Caf awards ceremony will be held on Tuesday 8 January 2019 in Dakar, Senegal.

African Player of the Year

Alex Iwobi (Nigeria & Arsenal)
Andre Onana (Cameroon & Ajax)
Anis Badri (Tunisia & Esperance)
Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
Mehdi Benatia (Morocco & Juventus)
Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal)
Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)
Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
1Walid Soliman (Egypt & Ahly)

Women’s Player of the Year

Abdulai Mukarama (Ghana & Northern Ladies)
Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dilian Quanjian)
Bassira Toure (Mali & AS Mande)
Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Houston Dash)
Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Seattle Reign)
Francisca Ordega (Nigeria & Washington Spirit)
Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon & CSKA Moskow)
Janine Van Wyk (South Africa & Houston Dash)
Onome Ebi (Nigeria & Hekan Huisanhang)
Raissa Feudjio (Cameroon & Aland United)
Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Jiangsu Suning)

Youth Player of the Year

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmunmd)
Franck Kessie (Cote d’Ivoire & AC Milan)
Wilfred Ndidi (Nigeria & Leicester City)

Men’s Coach of the Year

Aliou Cisse (Senegal)
Herve Renard (Morocco)
Moine Chaabani (Esperance)

Women’s Coach of the Year

Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
Joseph Brian Ndoko (Cameroon)
Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria)

Men’s National Team of the Year


Women’s National Team of the Year

South Africa

Uzonna Anele
Uzonna Anele
Anele is a web developer and a Pan-Africanist who believes bad leadership is the only thing keeping Africa from taking its rightful place in the modern world.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Join Our Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter today and start exploring the vibrant world of African history and culture!

Just In

The Newark Riots of 1967 and how it was Ignited by Police Brutality

The Newark riots, which stand as one of the most devastating urban uprisings in American history, were part of...

More Articles Like This